THE ¹[***] REVENUE COMMISSIONERS REGULATION, 1829

BENGAL REGULATION I OF 1829

[1st January, 1829]

A Regulation for constituting Commissioners of Revenue and Circuit

1. The system in operation for superintending the Preamble magistracy and the police, and for controlling and directing the executive Revenue-officers ${}^{2}[***]$ has been found to be defective.

The Courts of Appeal and Circuit, as now constituted, partly from the extent of country placed under their authority, and partly from their having to discharge the duties of both civil and criminal tribunals, have, in Many cases, failed to afford that prompt administration of justice which it is the duty of the Government to secure for the people.

The goal-deliveries have been, in some instances, delayed beyond the term prescribed by law, and a great arrear of cases under appeal has accrued in all the Courts, to the manifest injury of many individuals and to the encouragement of litigation and crime.

The Judges of Circuit, when employed singly in the districts under their authority, do not possess sufficient powers, nor have they the opportunity of acquiring sufficient local knowledge, to enable them adequately to control the police or protect the people.

³[***]

¹ The word "Bengal" was omitted by Article 6 of the Bangladesh (Adaptation of Existing Laws) Order, 1972 (President's Order No. 48 of 1972).

² The commas and words ", and for controlling and directing the executive Revenue officers, who in several cases are also magistrates," were omitted by Article 3, Schedule of the Bangladesh Laws (Repealing and Amending) Order, 1973 (President's Order No. 12 of 1973).

³ The fifth paragraph was omitted by Article 3, Schedule of the Bangladesh Laws (Repealing and Amending) Order, 1973 (President's Order No. 12 of 1973).

¹[For the correction of the above defects, it has appeared to be expedient and necessary to place the magistracy and police under the superintendence and control of Commissioners, each vested with the charge of such a moderate tract of country as may enable them to be easy of access to the people, and frequently to visit the different parts of their respective jurisdictions]

With the above views and purposes the ²[Government] has enacted the following rules to be in force from the 1st March, 1829, throughout the Country.

2. A Commissioner of Revenue and Circuit shall be appointed for each of the under-mentioned divisions :

Provided, however, that it shall be competent to the ³[Government] by an order, to transfer any district or districts from one division to another, and to increase or reduce the number of Commissioners, if such a measure shall appear to be necessary or expedient; due notice of any such arrangement being given by public proclamation.

10th Division, to contain the districts under the Magistrates, Collectors, Joint- Magistrates and Sub-Collectors ofSaran, Shahabad and Trihut.					
11th	ditto	ditto	of	{Patna, Bihar and Ramgarah.	
12th	ditto	ditto	of	Bhagalpur Monghyr,Malda and Purnea.	
13th Division, to contain the districts ujnder the Magistrates, Collectors, Joint-Magistrates and Sub-Collectors of				Dinajpur Rangpur Rajshahi and Bogra.	

Appointment of Commissioners of revenue and Circuit for divisions specified

¹ The sixth paragraph was substituted by Article 3, Schedule of the Bangladesh Laws (Repealing and Amending) Order, 1973 (President's Order No. 12 of 1973).

² The word "Government" was replaced, for the words "Governor General in Council" by Article 9 of the Bangladesh (Adaptation of Existing Laws) Order, 1972 (President's Order No. 48 of 1972).

³ The word "Government" was substituted for the words "Provincial Government" by Article 8 of the Bangladesh (Adaptation of Existing Laws) Order, 1972 (President's Order No. 48 of 1972).

14th ditto ditto of	∫Murshidabad Birbhum and Nadia.
15th ditto ditto of	Dacca, Jalalpur Tippera and Mymensingh.
16th ditto ditto of	{Chittagong and Noakhali.
18th ditto ditto of	Bakarganj, Jesore Suberbs of Calcutta 24-Paraganas and Barasat.
19th ditto ditto of	Cuttack, Khurda Balasore, Midnapore and Nagawan including Hijli.
20th ditto ditto of	Burdwan, Jungle Mahals and Hooghly.

3. [Commissioners invested with powers of Judges of Circuit and Courts of Circuit collectively; period of holding sessions, etc.] Rep. by the Repealing Act, 1874 (XVI of 1874).

4. Section 4 was omitted by the Bangladesh Laws (Repealing and Amending) Order, 1973 (President's Order No. 12 of 1973), Article 3, Schedule.

5. [Repeal of inconsistent provisions.] Rep. by the Repealing Act, 1874 (XVI of 1874).

6. [Repeal of inconsistent provisions.] Rep. by the Repealing Act, 1903 (I of 1903).

7, 8. [Offices of Superintendents of Police abolished; Commissoners to perform duties of Superintendents; tender of pardon to accomplices; Powers of Commissioners of Cuttack and Midnapore.] Rep. by the Amending Act, 1903 (I of 1903).

9. First.—[Powers of Commissioners of Arakan and Assam.] Rep. by the Amending Act, 1903 (I of 1903).

Second.—[Conferment of powers on the Commissioner for the districts of the Northern Doab, etc.] Rep. (except in certain Scheduled areas) by the North-Western Provinces Land-Revenue Act, 1873 (XIX of 1873). (Conferment of powers on the Resident at Delhi.) Rep. in part by Ben. Reg. VI of 1831; residue Rep. by Ben. Reg. X of 1831.

10. [Abolition of office of Mufassal Special Commissioner; modification of practice under Regs. I of 1821 and I of 1823.] Rep. by the Amending Act, 1903).